Welcome to Platinum!

Hello, and welcome to my new blog!

My name is John Siebelink. I am an aspiring writer from the great (and freezing) state of Michigan and part of the blog staff for Amazing Stories (amazingstoriesmag.com). I am also a new member of the Black Science Fiction Society and have plans on starting an SF-dedicated student organization at Grand Rapids Community College this fall. I am a life-long fan of science fiction in all its forms, ever since my middle school librarian introduced me to the works of Andre Norton and I discovered that science fiction was not just strange music and wide-eyed aliens with lasers and flying saucers. I’m still trying to decide what about it draws me in so much, but I am a thinker and possibly the fact that science fiction is “the literature of ideas” maybe that might be at least part of the reasons.

In this blog I want to share with you all of my thoughts and feelings on the ever-changing world of science fiction, with occasional guest bloggers telling me I’m wrong (or right, if they’re nice enough) and sharing the news of the SF world and, most importantly, trying to push science fiction to a wider audience. Book/film reviews, news, commentary, history, music, contests, interviews, and serious essays are all in the works, with the occasional break from SF every now and again so that I don’t go (too) insane. Muahahahahaha

This blog will be dedicated ALMOST ENTIRELY to science fiction and writing. The only exception I plan on making is when it comes to talking about mash-ups, but that is the ONLY time any other genre is allowed to slip in to my perfectly Platinum website.

But don’t worry. I have other plans for the realms of Fantasy and dark corridors for Horror. More on that later. If you’re looking for a general, all-encompassing blog for all three genres, I STRONGLY, HIGHLY, PASSIONATELY recommend Amazing Stories. That’s the magazine that started it all and it is doing a fantastic job of keeping the masses educated and entertained in every aspect of the SF/F/H world.

I am also looking to do some pro-bono editing and reviewing, so if any of you reading this would like something (science fictional) looked at or written about then please let me know! All I’d ask for in return is for permission to make a note of it on my site for usage in a portfolio of sorts. More on that later, as well.

In order to make this blog, a dream of mine, work though I need the support of my fellow bloggers and writers out there in the world, and YOU, my readers. If you ever have any comments, suggestions, concerns or ideas for me please be sure to email me at platinumagesf@gmail.com. I WILL respond promptly to each and every email that I get, even if its a million emails a day. True, the responses won’t be very long, but I will read them all and I will respond. I love doing that stuff.

Again, welcome to Platinum. Now off to get to work on writing some posts for this site…

Leave a comment